This shrine is located in Ashtamichira village. Inside the ‘chuttambalam’ there are two deities of Lord Shiva - one is swayambhoo in the form of Mrityunjayamoorthy called Thekkum Thevar and the other is Parvathi sametha Siva called the Naduvil Thevar, the one consecrated by Lord Parasurama, both facing East. Ganapathi, Sastha and Bhadrakali are also worshiped inside the ‘chuttambalam’. The structure of the temple is a little different from others and has two entrances to the chuttambalam. One sacrificial stone (Ballikallu) is placed outside the chuttambalam and another one is inside – in front of the Swayambhoo Siva. Outside, there is yet another sub-shrine of Lord Shiva in the form of Kirathamoorthy, called Vadakkum Thevar. There are sub shrines for Nagas and Lord Krishna as well. The main sanctum of Naduvil Thevar is two storied square structure while that of Swayambhoo Lord Shiva is a circular structure. The temple also has an old well.



  • 36 km from Thrissur
  • 15 km from Kodungallur